Cut to the Cheese
Zest89-5

Zest 89

I’ve been meaning to try Zest 89 for a while now. But I always seem to bypass it for the many other restaurants in the Glen Waverley area. Upon a friend’s recommendation, we ended up here for dinner one summer night. Although already brimming with people we were seated and served very promptly.

Iced mocha and mixed fruit smoothie

I was pretty excited from the get go when we were served these delicious drinks. That fruit smoothie was such a surprise. A creamy blend of various fruits that just danced around in your mouth. My friend swears by their iced chai.

Iced chai

Wagyu Beef Burger ($24)

I can never say no to a burger when I see it. It was a bit of a surprise when it arrived in opened-sandwich style. This looked impressive…till I put it together. The very meaty fillings were sandwiched between foccacia bread which was a nice change. It is big in the hands and does fall apart a little the more you eat. I found that the ingredients were not very fresh. The egg looked a little pathetic and honestly I’m not a big fan of beetroot. The patty was decent though, a little unique in that it was moist but crumbly at the same time. The highlight of the dish was the chips and aoili unfortunately. There was plenty of rosemary in the dip.

Burger put together

Tuscan Chicken Parmigiana ($24)

My sister ordered the parma which she said was nothing special. Very protein packed of course and a little dry.

Chilli Garlic Prawn Spaghetti ($23)

My friend seemed to enjoy her spaghetti dish. I tried a little and let’s say I was not blown away.

Overall I found the experience very lacklustre. The dishes seemed overpriced for very average food, although you would not be disappointed by the serving size.
Zest 89 on Urbanspoon

This entry was published on February 7, 2014 at 9:14 pm. It’s filed under Outings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

